129 modern-era nominees announced for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023 | Official website of the Pro Football Hall of Fame

The list will be reduced to 25 semi-finalists in November; 15 finalists announced at the beginning of January

CANTON, OHIO — Nine players in their first year of eligibility are on the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s list of 129 modern-era nominees for the Class of 2023.

Those on the list for the first time include running back Chris Johnson, offensive linemen Jahri Evans and Joe Thomas, defensive lineman Dwight Freeney, linebackers NaVorro Bowman and James Harrison, defensive backs Kam Chancellor and Darrelle Revis and punter Shane Lechler.

The list of nominees consists of 67 offensive players, 50 defensive players and 12 special teams players. The list of Modern Era nominees will be narrowed down to 25 semi-finalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists whose names will be announced in early January.

Modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023

*Finalist in 2022. Underlining indicates first year of eligibility. (Players must have last played at least five full seasons ago to be eligible for nomination, so anyone who last played in 2017 is first eligible in 2023.)

QUARTERBACKS (6): Randall Cunningham, Jake Delhomme, Jeff Garcia, Dave Krieg, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair.

CURRENT BACKS (17): Shaun Alexander, Mike Alstott (FB), Tiki Barber, Larry Centers (FB), Corey Dillon, Warrick Dunn, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Steven Jackson, Chris Johnson, Vonta Leach (FB), Jamal Lewis, Lorenzo Neal (FB), Eric Metcalf (also WR/PR/KR), Fred Taylor, Ricky Watters, Brian Westbrook.

WIDE RECEIVERS (20): Anquan Boldin, Troy Brown (also PR/KR), Donald Driver, Henry Ellard (also PR), Irving Fryar, *Devin Hester (also PR/KR), *Torry Holt, Joe Horn, Chad Johnson, *Andre Johnson, Derrick Mason, Muhsin Muhammad, Andre Rison, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Steve Smith Sr., Hines Ward, *Reggie Wayne, Wes Welker, Roddy White.

TIGHT END (3): Dallas Clark, Ben Coates, Wesley Walls.

OFFENSIVE LINES (21): *Willie Anderson (T), Matt Birk (C), Lomas Brown (T), Ruben Brown (G), Jahri Evans (G), D’Brickashaw Ferguson (T), Kevin Glover (C/G), Jordan Gross (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Nick Mangold (C), Logan Mankins (L), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G /T), Jeff Saturday (C), Mark Schlereth (G/C), Chris Snee (G), Joe Thomas (T), Brian Waters (L), Richmond Webb (T), Erik Williams (T), Steve Wisniewski (L).

DEFENSIVE LINES (14): John Abraham (DE, also LB), *Jared Allen (DE), Dwight Freeney (DE), La’Roi Glover (DT/NT), Casey Hampton (DT/NT), Robert Mathis (DE), Leslie O’Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Clyde Simmons (DE/DT), Justin Smith (DE ), Neil Smith (DE), Justin Tuck (DE), Vince Wilfork (DT/NT), Kevin Williams (DT/DE).

LINEBACKERS (17): Jessie Armstead, Cornelius Bennett, Navorro Bowman, Lance Briggs, Chad Brown, Tedy Bruschi, James Farrior, London Fletcher, James Harrisson, Seth Joyner, Willie McGinest (also DE), Takeo Spikes, Pat Swilling (also DE), *Zach Thomas, *DeMarcus Ware, *Patrick Willis, Al Wilson.

DEFENSIVE BACKS (19): Eric Allen (CB), *Ronde Barber (CB/S), Dr’ Bly (CB), Kam Chancellor (S), Nick Collins (S), Antonio Cromartie (CB), Merton Hanks (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Albert Lewis (CB), Terry McDaniel (CB), Tim McDonald (S), Darrelle Revis (BC), Allen Rossum (CB), Asante Samuel (CB), Bob Sanders (S), Charles Tillman (CB), Troy Vincent (CB), Adrian Wilson (S), Darren Woodson (S).

PUNTERS/KICKERS (10): Gary Anderson (K), Jason Elam (K), Jeff Feagles (P), Jason Hanson (K), John Kasay (K), Sean Landeta (R) Shane Lechler (P), Ryan Longwell (K), Pat McAfee (P), Matt Turk (P).

SPECIAL TEAMS (2): Josh Cribbs (KR/PR also WR), Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB).

Nineteen finalists will be presented to the full 49-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee at its annual meeting to choose the Class of 2023. These nominees will be comprised of 15 finalists from players from the era modern and recently named senior finalists Joe Klecko, Chuck Howley and Ken Riley and finalist coach/contributor Don Coryell.

The selection committee will meet early next year (on a date to be determined) before Super Bowl LVII. Although there is no fixed number for any category of members, the bylaws of the selection process provide that between four and nine new members will be selected.

Senior Finalists and Coach/Contributor Finalists are voted “yes” or “no” at the annual selection meeting and must receive at least 80% committee support to join the Class of 2023. Modern Era Finalists will be eliminated. during the meeting from 3 p.m. to 10 a.m., then from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. The remaining five finalists will be elected individually, “yes” or “no”, and must receive the same 80% positive vote as the seniors and coach/contributor to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

This year’s reduction vote and selection meeting ballots will be processed via an online voting platform developed specifically for the Pro Football Hall of Fame by EY.

EY also oversaw the election process for the Centennial Class of 2020, Class of 2021 and Class of 2022.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023 will be enshrined in August 2023. For the most up-to-date information on the annual enshrinement week powered by Johnson Controls, visit https://www.profootballhof.com/enshrinement /.

Hall of Fame Fan Vote presented by Ford

The annual Pro Football Hall of Fame fan voting presented by Ford kicked off today. Fans can start voting as many times as they want at https://www.profootballhof.com/fanvote to predict the five modern era players who will be elected to the Hall of Fame under the promotion 2023. (This fan voting is for entertainment purposes only and does not reflect overall results for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.)

Fans who vote automatically become eligible for sweepstakes prizes, including a Grand Prize trip for two (2) to Dedication Week 2023 powered by Johnson Controls in Guangzhou.

This is the 13th consecutive year that Ford, the official automobile of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, has invited fans to predict the outcome of the Hall of Fame’s annual class. Over 25 million votes have been cast over the past decade.

#modernera #nominees #announced #Pro #Football #Hall #Fame #Class #Official #website #Pro #Football #Hall #Fame

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.